Every Day Is For the Thief

Every Day Is For the Thief

Cole, Teju

$333.00 MXN

Sinopsis

For readers of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie and Michael Ondaatje, Every Day Is for the Thief is a wholly original work of fiction by Teju Cole, whose critically acclaimed debut, Open City, was the winner of the PEN/Hemingway Award and a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award, and was named one of the best books of the year by more than twenty publications.

Fifteen years is a long time to be away from home. It feels longer still because I left under a cloud.

A young Nigerian living in New York City goes home to Lagos for a short visit, finding a city both familiar and strange. In a city dense with story, the unnamed narrator moves through a mosaic of life, hoping to find inspiration for his own. He witnesses the “yahoo yahoo” diligently perpetrating email frauds from an Internet café, longs after a mysterious woman reading on a public bus who disembarks and disappears into a bookless crowd, and recalls the tragic fate of an eleven-year-old boy accused of stealing at a local market.

Along the way, the man reconnects with old friends, a former girlfriend, and extended family, taps into the energies of Lagos life—creative, malevolent, ambiguous—and slowly begins to reconcile the profound changes that have taken place in his country and the truth about himself.

In spare, precise prose that sees humanity everywhere, interwoven with original photos by the author, Every Day Is for the Thief—originally published in Nigeria in 2007—is a wholly original work of fiction. This revised and updated edition is the first version of this unique book to be made available outside Africa. You’ve never read a book like Every Day Is for the Thief because no one writes like Teju Cole.

Editorial:
Random House
ISBN:
978-0-8129-8585-6
Páginas:
192
Encuadernación:
Pasta blanda
Idioma:
Inglés

Disponibilidad en Centros

  • Condesa
  • Polanco
  • Santa Fe
  • Perisur
  • Zona Rosa
  • Roma
  • San Ángel

Advertencia: Las existencias de nuestro sistema no son precisas al 100%, por lo que antes de dirigirte a una de nuestras sucursales, te recomendamos que llames por teléfono para confirmar su disponibilidad.

Comentarios


Añadir comentario

Artículos relacionados

  • Gambling Man, A
    Baldacci, David
    u003cbu003eAloysius Archer, the straight-talking World War II veteran fresh out of prison, returns in this riveting #1 u003ciu003eNew York Timesu003c/iu003e bestselling thriller from David Baldacci.u003c/bu003eu003cbru003e u003cbru003e u003cbru003e u003cbru003e The 1950s are on the horizon, and Archer is in dire need of a fresh start after a nearly fatal detour in Poca City. So...

    $345.00 MXN

    En stock
  • The Fairy Tales. Grimm & Andersen 2 in 1....
    Andersen, Hans Christian / Grimm, Brothers
    Hace más de 200 años, dos hermanos de Kassel, Jacob y Wilhelm Grimm, publicaron el primer volumen de su colección de cuentos populares alemanes. Con el tiempo, las historias de su colección crecieron hasta sumar 200 cuentos de hadas y diez leyendas. Lo que en un primer momento fue un intento por preservar las tradiciones alemanas para la posteridad es hoy la colección de histor...

    $936.00 MXN

    En stock
  • Everything is F*cked
    Manson, Mark
    We live in an interesting time. Materially, everything is the best it's ever been—we are freer, healthier and wealthier than any people in human history. Yet, somehow everything seems to be irreparably and horribly f*cked—the planet is warming, governments are failing, economies are collapsing, and everyone is perpetually offended on Twitter. At this moment in history, when we ...

    $562.00 MXN

    En stock
  • Theodore de Bry
    Groesen, Michiel van / Tise, Larry / Tise, Larry E.
    When Flemish engraver and publisher Theodore de Bry issued the first volume of his America series in 1590, the New World was, for most Europeans, truly novel. Gleaned from the travel accounts of adventurers like Thomas Harriot, Sir Francis Drake, and Sir Walter Raleigh, De Bry's magnificent engravings brought the new continent and its inhabitants to an enraptured audience acros...

    $3,844.00 MXN

    En stock
  • Stories From the City of God
    Pasolini, Pier Paolo
    Now in paperback, a collection of the legendary filmmaker’s short fiction and nonfiction from 1950 to 1966, in which we see the machinations of the creative mind in post-World War II Rome.In a portrait of the city at once poignant and intimate, we find artistic witness to the customs, dialect, squalor, and beauty of the ancient imperial capital that has succumbed to modern warf...

    $372.00 MXN

    En stock
  • Enlightenment Now
    Pinker, Steven
    "My new favorite book of all time." --Bill Gates If you think the world is coming to an end, think again: people are living longer, healthier, freer, and happier lives, and while our problems are formidable, the solutions lie in the Enlightenment ideal of using reason and science. Is the world really falling apart? Is the ideal of progress obsolete? In this elegant assessment o...

    $396.00 MXN

    En stock

Otros artículos del autor

  • Cosas conocidas y extrañas
    Cole, Teju
    Teju Cole es un observador tan perspicaz como emotivo, dotado de una especial sensibilidad para captar la extrañeza latente en las realidades conocidas. El amplio abanico de temas que trata en los ensayos escritos para diversos medios y reunidos en este volumen atestigua la riqueza de sus intereses, que versan desde la política hasta los viajes, pasando por la fotografía, la hi...

    $728.00 MXN

    En stock
  • Cada día es del ladrón
    Cole, Teju
    Un joven médico regresa a su Lagos natal tras vivir quince años en Nueva York. La Nigeria de su infancia ya no existe; en su lugar encuentra una ciudad ganada por el consumismo, el desdén y la globalización. El espíritu del siglo xxi impregna el globo entero y de Manhattan a Lagos el mundo es una máquina bien engrasada, siempre y cuando se disponga de dinero para pagar, ya sea ...

    $480.00 MXN

    No disponible