Utopia Of Rules, The

Utopia Of Rules, The

On Technology, Stupidity, and the Secret Joys of Bureaucracy

Graeber, David

$366.00 MXN

Sinopsis

Where does the desire for endless rules, regulations, and bureaucracy come from? How did we come to spend so much of our time filling out forms? And is it really a cipher for state violence?

To answer these questions, the anthropologist David Graeber--one of our most important and provocative thinkers--traces the peculiar and unexpected ways we relate to bureaucracy today, and reveals how it shapes our lives in ways we may not even notice...though he also suggests that there may be something perversely appealing--even romantic--about bureaucracy.

Leaping from the ascendance of right-wing economics to the hidden meanings behind Sherlock Holmes and Batman, The Utopia of Rules is at once a powerful work of social theory in the tradition of Foucault and Marx, and an entertaining reckoning with popular culture that calls to mind Slavoj Zizek at his most accessible.

An essential book for our times, The Utopia of Rules is sure to start a million conversations about the institutions that rule over us--and the better, freer world we should, perhaps, begin to imagine for ourselves.

Editorial:
Melville House Publishing
Materia
Antropología
ISBN:
978-1-61219-518-6
Páginas:
264
Encuadernación:
Pasta blanda
Idioma:
Inglés

Disponibilidad en Centros

  • Condesa
  • Polanco
  • Santa Fe
  • Perisur
  • Zona Rosa
  • Roma
  • San Ángel

Advertencia: Las existencias de nuestro sistema no son precisas al 100%, por lo que antes de dirigirte a una de nuestras sucursales, te recomendamos que llames por teléfono para confirmar su disponibilidad.

Comentarios


Añadir comentario

Otros libros del autor

  • Fragmentos de antropología anarquista
    Graeber, David
    ¿Qué distancia hay entre el anarquismo y la academia? ¿Y entre la antropología y el anarquismo? Estas preguntas son comprensibles en la medida en que, como ha afirmado David Graeber, el ámbito académico se basa en una separación entre la teoría y la práctica que choca con la importancia para el anarquismo de la relación entre práctica y pensamiento, y entre fines y medios. El a...

    $320.00 MXN

    En stock
  • Fragments of an Anarchist Anthropology
    Graeber, David
    Everywhere anarchism is on the upswing as a political philosophy—everywhere, that is, except the academy. Anarchists repeatedly appeal to anthropologists for ideas about how society might be reorganized on a more egalitarian, less alienating basis. Anthropologists, terrified of being accused of romanticism, respond with silence . . . But what if they didn’t?This pamphlet ponder...

    $225.00 MXN

    En stock
  • Pirate Enlightenment, or the Real Libertalia
    Graeber, David
    Pirates have long lived in the realm of romance and fantasy, symbolizing risk, lawlessness, and radical visions of freedom. But at the root of this mythology is a rich history of pirate societies—vibrant, imaginative experiments in self-governance and alternative social formations at the edges of the European empire.In graduate school, David Graeber conducted ethnographic field...

    $496.00 MXN

    En stock
  • Bullshit Jobs
    Graeber, David
    El nuevo esclavismo. Pasarse la vida trabajando en algo totalmente innecesario. Un trabajo de mierda.¿Su trabajo tiene algún sentido para la sociedad? En la primavera de 2013, David Graeber hizo esta pregunta en un ensayo lúdico y provocativo titulado «Sobre el fenómeno de los trabajos de mierda». El artículo se volvió viral. Después de un millón de visitas en línea en diecisie...

    $419.00 MXN

    No disponible
  • Bullshit Jobs
    Graeber, David
    Does your job make a meaningful contribution to the world? In the spring of 2013, David Graeber asked this question in a playful, provocative essay titled "On the Phenomenon of Bullshit Jobs." It went viral. After one million online views in seventeen different languages, people all over the world are still debating the answer.There are hordes of people--HR consultants, communi...

    $347.00 MXN

    No disponible
  • Debt
    Graeber, David
    Before there was money, there was debt.Every economics textbook says the same thing: Money was invented to replace onerous and complicated barter systems--to relieve ancient people from having to haul their goods to market. The problem with this version of history? There's not a shred of evidence to support it.Here anthropologist David Graeber presents a stunning reversal of co...

    $687.00 MXN

    No disponible

Libros relacionados

  • Borrachos
    Edward Slingerland
    Una investigación deslumbrante sobre el vicio más antiguo de la humanidadAunque se han escrito ríos de tinta sobre la historia y la filosofía del alcohol y otras drogas, nadie había ofrecido hasta ahora una respuesta completa y convincente a la pregunta básica detrás del fenómeno: ¿por qué los seres humanos han recurrido desde siempre a sustancias alteradoras de la conciencia?B...

    $329.00 MXN

    En stock
  • Dawn of Everything, The
    Graeber, David / Wengrow, David
    For generations, our remote ancestors have been cast as primitive and childlike, either free and equal innocents, or thuggish and warlike. Civilization, we are told, could be achieved only by sacrificing those original freedoms or by taming our baser instincts. In their major New York Times bestseller, The Dawn of Everything, David Graeber and David Wengrow fundamentally challe...

    $432.00 MXN

    En stock
  • Triásico y jurásico
    Es un espectacular recorrido por millones de años de vida en el planeta tierra. Ilustrado con reconstrucciones en 3D. ...

    $196.00 MXN

    En stock
  • Paleozoico invertebrados
    Una colección para descubrir la historia de la vida en la Tierra. Libro de pasta dura, impreso completamente a color. Impactantes imágenes con información detallada desde el origen de la vida, hasta la era de los dinosaurios y los primeros humanos. Colecciona los 6 impresionantes tomos. Libros de gran tamaño en tapa dura con papel de alto gramaje. Ilustraciones de lujo a full c...

    $196.00 MXN

    En stock
  • Tierra primitiva y pueblos prehistóricos
    La guía definitiva sobre la formación de la Tierra y la evolución humana. Es un espectacular recorrido por millones de años de vida en el planeta tierra. Ilustrado con reconstrucciones en 3D. Impactantes imágenes con información detallada desde el origen de la vida, hasta la era de los dinosaurios y los primeros humanos. Colecciona los 6 impresionantes tomos. Libros de gran tam...

    $196.00 MXN

    En stock
  • Paleozoico vertebrados y plantas
    Extraordinarios esqueletos y fósiles asombrosos, aprovecha la investigación científica más reciente. Una colección para descubrir la historia de la vida en la Tierra. Libro de pasta dura, impreso completamente a color. Impactantes imágenes con información detallada desde el origen de la vida, hasta la era de los dinosaurios y los primeros humanos. ...

    $196.00 MXN

    En stock